Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Posted: 10/13/2018 4:59:44 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 10/13/2018 5:22:04 PM EDT by AR45fan]
Scope noob here. Went to an illuminated 1-4x because astigmatism makes RDS blurry. But I just cannot get a nice, solid cheek weld with my 1-4x scope even though it is co-witness height. Is that common? Am I doing it wrong or expecting too much? I shoot better (faster, more repeatably) with irons than with this scope. Thinking of just ditching it altogether.
Link Posted: 10/13/2018 5:23:23 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 10/13/2018 8:39:10 PM EDT by H53EXPERT]
There is no such thing as co-witness with a scope. Get the proper height rings so your scope works for your facial characteristics, your bone structure and facial fat can alter your specific cheek weld height requirements from the norm.

Which and what height rings or scope mount are you using?
Link Posted: 10/13/2018 6:13:40 PM EDT
AERO 30mm cantilever.
Link Posted: 10/13/2018 8:30:06 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 10/13/2018 8:35:48 PM EDT by Daggertt]
yeah, so you don't cowitness the sights through the scope, but I know what you mean is that the height of the scope is where a red dot would be to cowitness.

Anyway, most scope mounts put the scope too high for my face to get a comfortable and repeatable cheekweld. Everyone's faces are different.

My solution has been to use a magpul CTR stock with a Larue RISR, which puts my face in the right place for standard height 30mm scope rings.

Or, to use a ADM Recon-SL mount which is lower, but not cantilever, so the scope might be back too far.

Armalite's scope mount is also lower than most and allows me to get cheekweld with a standard stock. However, in looking for one to link, I see that they don't seem to be available anymore, or at least not commonly.

Link Posted: 10/15/2018 8:21:36 PM EDT