Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/8/2002 5:33:34 AM EDT
I used a bore mop and "FLITZ" metal polish (not very abrasive) to polish the chamber of my AR shorty AFTER the chamber brush and solvent cleaning.
WOW!!!
The mop came out completely black after only a few seconds in a slow rotation hand-drill.
I cleaned the mop and ran it in a few more seconds, black again.
Do these chambers get that filthy?
The chmaber brush doesn't seem to do too good a job other than "knocking off the big chunks".

I've used "FLITZ" for years to polish chambers and it has always worked well.
But using it in the AR shows me how the chamber walls can get clogged with garbage.

What do you think?
Link Posted: 9/8/2002 5:57:48 AM EDT
[#1]
Not familiar with FLITZ but real familar with metal polish since this is what I do for a living, part of anyway.  Please keep in mind that polish by definition means abrasive. If your polish is slightly acidic or abrasive it will etch a little of the metal each and everytime you use it which should make your mop  a little black.  This doesn't necessarily mean you are taking a lot of metal away.  We polish 0.002" material in which 0.0001" would ruin the part.

A good way to find out if it is acidic is to clean using the WWII corrosive ammo method.  After cleaning, run a clean swab with houshold amonia through the barrel.  If it turns blue it typically indicates the precesnce of acids. You should get a little black along with it. Dry the barrel out and then run the a clean mop, lube,etc.