Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/4/2012 8:48:16 PM EDT
I'm a new noob to AR 15 platform and i have a question. Why is it that some charging handles are hard to pull than others?? Any recommendations on how to make the charging handle a little more pull friendly especially when using the left hand. Thanks..
Link Posted: 10/4/2012 8:53:01 PM EDT
[#1]
The buffer spring may be a little tight if its new. Shoot it for a while and it may loosen up. That or hit the gym....
Link Posted: 10/4/2012 8:58:42 PM EDT
[#2]
They tend to smooth out and get easier with use. A longer latch can help with getting an easy purchase. Of course keep everything lubed. But mostly shoot it.
Link Posted: 10/4/2012 10:18:50 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
They tend to smooth out and get easier with use. A longer latch can help with getting an easy purchase. Of course keep everything lubed. But mostly shoot it.

BCM mod 4 would give you some extra leverage. They work great.
Link Posted: 10/4/2012 10:33:43 PM EDT
[#4]
Mostly due to new parts or no oil to slick it up.

Rub a bit of oil on the outside area of the charging handle where it slides into the upper. keep shootin the rifle. in time it will work out.

2 of the best handles to upgrade to are, Vltor/bcm Gunfighter and the Rainer arms raptor. they have nice strong latches and give plenty of area to grip it well.
Link Posted: 10/5/2012 5:16:51 AM EDT
[#5]
A am a Southpaw as well and the only thing I can suggest is to make sure you are grasping the "T" of the charging handle with the index finger and the middle finger AND APPLYING EVEN FORCE WITH BOTH FINGERS as you draw the CH fully to the rear.
Link Posted: 10/5/2012 5:25:27 AM EDT
[#6]