Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 3/14/2012 6:31:17 AM EDT
I have very little experience with AR-15s (none actually), but I have the opportunity to buy a Bushmaster XM15-E2S from a guy who also doesn't know much about ARs. The gun comes with a hard case, two magazines (I don't know what kind), and has the following aftermarket additions: UTC quad rail, Tapco collapsable stock, and new flat top upper with rear sight. It also comes with all of the original parts. I attached a couple of pictures.

After doing some research online, it looks like Bushmaster marks a lot of their lowers with XM15-E2S but this doesn't mean that all guns marked with this number are the same. Is there any way to figure out exactly what I'm buying? If the lower says .223/5.56 on it, does that mean that the barrel can likely handle both rounds (he says it can, but then again, he can't seem to confirm exactly what type of barrel is on the gun).

He is asking $650 for everything listed above. Is this a good deal? Would this be a good first AR? I'm really just looking for a fun range run and to supplement other HD guns I already have. Sorry for all the questions––I'm sure I'm showing my ignorance. Amy other advice?

UPDATE: The barrel is marked C MP B. It sounds like this might be a Colt barrel? What does this do to the value?
Link Posted: 3/14/2012 6:41:11 AM EDT
[#1]