Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 6/17/2003 11:07:34 AM EDT
I have a complete Bushmaster lower I picked up some time ago and have done nothing with it. I have seen different advertisements regarding the Dissapator and I am considering picking up an upper to complete my rifle. I was hoping to hear from other folks who own or have had the opportunity to fire one of these rifles; your thoughts, likes, dislikes, etc.

Best Regards, C
Link Posted: 6/17/2003 11:19:49 AM EDT
I had a dissy upper for about 6 months. Never had any problems with it and the extra sight radius was handy. I ended up trading it for a 20" upper, but not because of any problems I encountered. I just prefer the "look" of a standard upper. It was a little heavier than most standard 16" uppers, but that's a very minor point. If you like the look of the Dissipator, I'm sure you'd be happy with it.
Link Posted: 6/17/2003 11:32:56 AM EDT
I don't think you'll be happy with a standard Dissipator for the reason Calvert lists: excess weight. If you can buy a Bushmaster Lightweight Dissipator, M4 Dissipator, or have a HBAR turned down these make very, very nice carbines. Hard to grab a hot barrel with one of these! -- Chuck
Link Posted: 6/17/2003 12:11:01 PM EDT
I don't own one, but my buddy did. I always liked the concept, and now with Bushmaster's lighter "M4 Dissipator" I like it even more. They make a lot of sense with postban lowers. A bayo lug wouldn't be missed, since it would be useless. And the muzzle doesn't look so "bare" when it's next to the front site. Just MHO, of course.
Link Posted: 6/17/2003 12:49:00 PM EDT