Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 3/1/2006 9:16:16 PM EDT
I have an opportunity to get a new Douglas barrel, 20", .223 wylde chamber, 1/9 twist, in a medium/heavy contour, at a very reasonable price.

I also have a Leupold Vari-X II 6x18 sitting around that I've been looking to do something with.

Questions -

1. Using 69 gr bullets, is it reasonable to think I'll be capable of going out to 600 yards? 800 yards?

2. Using the new DOuglas barrel, a quality upper/lower combo, fulton armory bolt/carrier, a free floated carbon fiber handguard, etc etc - are there any "secrets" that are going to prevent me from putting together a 1/2-3/4 MOA gun? I'm mechanically inclined, have built 2 nice 1911s and my other AR, and I have the basic tools, so I'm not a complete hack.. but if you have to know "tricks" to get them down there, no point in wasting my time as I'm new to this game.

I will (eventually) be hand loading, for what that is worth.

Link Posted: 3/1/2006 9:24:42 PM EDT
A 1/8" or faster twist would be a lot better for what you are trying to do, because it would enable you to use heavier bullets with a much better b/c. You can buy a RR 1/8" twist stainless barrel for a pretty good price, or a woa for not much more. Either of these would be a better choice.

TC
Link Posted: 3/1/2006 9:48:26 PM EDT
Why not go out to 1000 yards?
Link Posted: 3/1/2006 10:18:15 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 3/1/2006 10:19:42 PM EDT by pangris]
the barrel I can get cheap is a 1/9, only reason I'm considering it. Including the glass I'd be in the gun for less than $1000.

why not go to 1000? 600 is the range many PR1 classes go to, and I have access to a 500 yard range.

Paul
Link Posted: 3/1/2006 10:31:16 PM EDT

Originally Posted By pangris:

Questions -

1. Using 69 gr bullets, is it reasonable to think I'll be capable of going out to 600 yards? 800 yards?