Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/2/2007 5:30:58 PM EDT
Need help, would like to put together a lightweight compact AR that is able to hit MOA at 100 through 500 yrds., range available on private property.  Question, do I build a lightweight BM 14.5 by adding a rail, 2 stg. trigger, sights, ect. or purchase the 14.5 POF?  I have experience with the BM and like the lightweight feel and swing of its 14.5 and on the flip side I have no experience with the POF as in weight/ballance/feel,, only reading reviews all of which seem to be extremely good in everything.  The only con I have read is the POF is a bit on the heavy side?  In short looking for the lightest, compact , highly accurate AR I can get or build?  Regards, all assistance will be greatly valued.
Link Posted: 1/2/2007 5:45:46 PM EDT
[#1]
forgot to add, my problem with the BM is the front williams sight is in the way for a flat top scope mount as the POF has a removable or folding sight?  additionally I can get the stock BM rifle for approx. 900.  Regards.
Link Posted: 1/2/2007 6:32:18 PM EDT
[#2]
I am building a similar gun right now.  I am using:
14.5 M4 profile barrel chrome lined
YHM rail a
YHM rear flip sight
Cavalry Arms Polymer Stock
RRA 2 stage trigger.

w/ possible leupold 1-4x or 2-7 w/ QD rings
I'll let you know when the rest of parts get here later in the week.
I hope to shoot out to 500 yrds with it, but still be nice and light for lugging around the woods here hunting.
Link Posted: 1/2/2007 9:15:03 PM EDT
[#3]
very nice, what type of scope/mount are you going to use?  I am somewhat new to the AR so I am trying to gather all the info/experience from others I can get.  Going to call trijicon today and see if their ACOG's shoot any differend from a flat rail or up on the carry handle?  If it will effect 100 200 300... yrd shooting?  
Link Posted: 1/2/2007 9:15:03 PM EDT
[#4]