Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 5/17/2003 1:47:22 PM EDT
Okay, I'm new to owning my own AR-15, though I am very familiar with them from my service in the Army.

I was out plinking (with Wolf) and after about 20 rounds, I pulled the trigger and there was a click.  So, I pulled back the bolt and I could see that the conical firing pin housing part (forgive me for not remembering the technical name) had split right at the spot were that larger "T" pin goes in (right under where the gas extraction tube is).  After removing the broken part of the firing pin housing, (which was easy) and the round in the chamber, I could see that the firing pin had hit the primer but the 'dent' wasn't as pronounced as what I am used to seeing from my AR-15 (and several other firearms I own).

The AR-15 I have is an essential arms lower (the serial number is an "EA. XXXXX" model J-15, CAL. .223-5.56) with an unknown upper.  The upper has an upside down "G" right over the where the forward pin to field strip it is.  Also, the windage knob is not like that on a standard M-16, it is a more simple design.

So my question is, what do you think it is, the ammo or the bolt?  Also, how easy will it be to replace this broken part?

My rifle was clean, I know how to maintain it, and I had only fired about 70 rounds of Winchester .223 Varmint ammo through it.

I've only owned it for about a month.

Thanks.
Link Posted: 5/17/2003 2:22:39 PM EDT
[#1]
I've seen bolts break from time to time - usually from Professional Ordnance and Oly Arms.  If you can't have the seller replace it, just buy a new bolt and throw it in there.  

The dent in the primer is normal and will happen when you chamber a round.  Since the firing pin is free floating it does strike the primer, just not with enough force to fire.
Link Posted: 5/17/2003 5:11:07 PM EDT
[#2]