Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 4/8/2006 7:28:59 PM EDT
I am new to the AR world and currently building my first AR My question is out of a 1/9 twist RRA upper is there that much difference in Accuracy between  the Blackhills VS XM855PD ammo. Most of what I am going to be doing is Rifle drills to prepare for Iraq in a few months. The Air Force doesn't give us much trigger time so I am going to do it on my own. Any opinions welcome.

Scott
Vandenberg AFB
Link Posted: 4/8/2006 8:03:42 PM EDT
[#1]
Scott,

First off, let me say thank you for your service and good luck in Iraq.

MUCH has been written about both Black Hills and XMnnnPD here on the site.

To summarize, Black Hills is generally top notch ammo, even the reloads.

The PD stuff seems to split the camp. Some people here have used it and reported no problems, other people such as myself don't trust it as far as it could be thrown. I don't like it because of bent bullets, neck set back, etc. Too many poor quality issues and other varibles to trust my life and safety too, but that is just my $0.02.
Link Posted: 4/8/2006 8:45:13 PM EDT
[#2]
Thank you, for your comment about my serice. The primary use of this ammo is practice. Butt accuracy means a lot to me to. What would you suggest for when the SHTF type situation? BlackHills? I will be putting my life on the lin with M855 ammo. Kinda confuse why Blackhills would be better.
Link Posted: 4/8/2006 9:21:54 PM EDT
[#3]
Black Hills really is top notch ammo, but I'm a little confused by what you mean.  Black Hills makes a large variety of different loads, having many different uses.