Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/1/2003 9:41:41 AM EDT
Is black hill Blue box 55gr FMJ any good? I just got 1200rds for $176.00.
Link Posted: 1/1/2003 9:53:27 AM EDT
[#1]
I have no experience with this ammo but it appears to me that you got a decent deal based on the fact that Georgia Precision is selling that stuff for $118 per 500 rounds.  Apparently, the blue boxed ammo is remanufactured and considered decent.  Do you mind if I ask where you purchased it?

Thanks!

Drivie
Link Posted: 1/1/2003 10:01:53 AM EDT
[#2]
I got it at Gander Mountain. They have a special right now buy 2 boxes get the 3 free on centerfire ammo.
Limit of 12. So I needed to get my brother to stand inline and buy 12 also.
Link Posted: 1/2/2003 7:39:25 PM EDT
[#3]
Drivie,
As Re-Man goes,there is no better than Black Hills.
Hate to say it but Black Hills Blue Box is often BETTER than most non-Reman ammo in some regards.

Clean burning,accurate,and unless the 2 Chrongraphs are conspiring,more consistant than some match loads I have tried.

I have 2 rifles that shoot Blue box better than Factory new in the same category across the board.

I also have a rather large number of M4's in my care that shoot it better than our high end duty load.Though terminally there is some differences.

For blasting/plinking and informal target work ya did just Peachy!

Color me jealous.
S-28

Link Posted: 1/2/2003 9:09:50 PM EDT
[#4]
I have put more Black Hills blue box 55gr FMJ and 52gr JHP-Match through my AR's than anyother brand.  I would estimate Ive bought 20 cases over the last 6 years.  Its consistantly clean, reliable and VERY accurate.  Its my practice ammo of choice.
Link Posted: 1/3/2003 11:48:11 AM EDT
[#5]
Any recommendations on where to get 1000 rds of Black Hills blue box for a good price??
Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany