Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 1/3/2012 7:28:09 AM EDT
I am new to ARs and have been scouring the forums for a few weeks learning as much as I can. I am putting together my wish list and am trying to decide on whether to put the front BUIS on the gas block or on the rail. Is there an advantage one has over the other as far as accuracy and reliability? I think I like the look of the exposed gas block better but is it important to cover it with the rail? What I am wanting to build is a 1/2 moa 16" mid length do it all gun (although I primarily paper punch). So far I have listed as probables:

Spikes lower
Magpul AFG
Magpul UBR
YH Phantom 5C2
BCM Gunfighter
Phase 5 EBR
BADASS ambi- safety (1 son shoots lefty)
Sampson EVO handguard
YH, Troy, or ARMS BUIS

I am wanting an adjustable gas block so I can tune with my handloads and single load on the bench. I want to shoot out to 600 and past that I will build a 6.5 upper eventually. I am leaning towards a BHW barrel but that is still undecided (so many barrel makers!) Anyways, thanks for any help you guys can provide in my ""I turned 40 and am treating myself to an AR" project.
Link Posted: 1/3/2012 7:35:14 AM EDT
Probably on your gas block.

That way if you flex the barrel your iron sights will track with it.
Link Posted: 1/3/2012 7:36:24 AM EDT
Neither ... get a barrel with a pinned front sight.
Link Posted: 1/3/2012 8:13:47 AM EDT
Originally Posted By WI57:

This.....
Link Posted: 1/3/2012 8:22:56 AM EDT
Originally Posted By EdgecrusherXES_45:

This.....

Will not be of much help.
Link Posted: 1/3/2012 8:28:12 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 1/3/2012 8:28:19 AM EDT by EdgecrusherXES_45]
Longer sight radius.
Link Posted: 1/3/2012 8:31:38 AM EDT
Originally Posted By Gregory_K:

This.....

Based on what?
Link Posted: 1/3/2012 8:38:55 AM EDT