Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Variants
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 12/15/2012 11:02:38 PM EDT
I just started a build on a lower that will be dedicated to .458 SOCOM.  This is my first .458 SOCOM, and was wondering if anyone knows of a reliable rifle length Spring and Buffer combo?  If you have experience with the .458 SOCOM, please give me your two cents.  The reason I ask is cause I run a Blue Sprinco Carbine spring with a DPMS heavy buffer on my 5.56 Carbine and have never had a malfunction (knock on wood) after 7000 plus rounds.  I got that combo from another post on here, and was hoping I could get some more good info for this new build.  Thanks.
Link Posted: 12/16/2012 7:03:37 AM EDT
[#1]
I have extensive experience with the 458S and own 4.  This round was designed to run with STANDARD rifle and CAR buffers and springs.  Quite often when people try to get fancy they create jam-o-matics.  The SOCOM is NOT a 5.56 so forget what you know about them.  No midlength gas (stick with CAR gas) and no need for HBs and XP springs.
Link Posted: 12/16/2012 7:54:54 AM EDT
[#2]
I ran a A2 spring and buffer from Bushmaster with my 458S with no issues other than it made my upper dentures(old school hockey fanatic,LOL) ting when fired, I tried a Wollf buffer spring and MGI rate reducer and that smoothed it out, I didnt have any issues running that combo as far as reliability was concerned.
Link Posted: 12/16/2012 9:31:45 AM EDT
[#3]
I have a 50 beowulf & put an A2 buf & spring w/ no problems. Yes, it is designed, like the socom, to use car parts. The slightly heavier buff & spring slow it very little & it cycles flawlessly. Now, If one put a 6 oz buff & HEAVY spring I'll bet it would jam up. I only did it because I had the parts laying around AND I wanted an A2 stock on the heavy bugger instead of a car stock. If it ain't broke don't fix$ it.
Link Posted: 12/16/2012 1:13:17 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted: