Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/18/2002 5:53:02 PM EDT
How hot can you let a barrel get safely?  Is there a certain number of rounds per minute you can shoot?  I have been letting mine cool about 5 minutes every 50 rounds in rapid fire, but I don't know if it is required or not.  
Link Posted: 9/18/2002 7:39:32 PM EDT
[#1]
Your fine doing what your doing.  My brother shot his 90 round drum and then a couple of 30 rd mags in a row once... the barrel turned gray.  My guess (I'm a mechanical engineer) is that the molecular properties of the barrel changed... probably not a good thing.  I always know my AK47s are getting too hot when the plastic foregrips start melting and smoke big time telling me its time to take a break.
Link Posted: 9/18/2002 9:19:10 PM EDT
[#2]
the gas tube will die well before the barrel does.
Link Posted: 9/18/2002 10:13:14 PM EDT
[#3]
It depends on weather it is chrome lined or not. I have ran seven thirty round mags back to back without a problem and accuracy not effected. However as the barrel heats up it tends to warp a bit- you may notice some odd stray rounds the hotter the barrel gets.
AK's can go a hell of alot longer on rapid fire simply because the barrels are hammer forged making the metal quite a bit more dense than any AR barrel. Most AR barrels are rated to about 10K-14K rounds before needing changed. AK barrels are rated to 45K or better.
Really you need to decide if the rifle is a bench gun or a fun gun. I opted for the second which means burning it up. I have seen AR barrels glow from so much heat but once cooled accuracy tends to return to normal. You may consider Cryo-Teching the barrel for wear. This makes the metal more uniform which adds heat dissipating qualities= more accuracy. The barrels only turn "gray/white" because the park has been heated to much.  
Link Posted: 9/19/2002 6:08:20 AM EDT
[#4]