Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
PSA
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 9/26/2005 9:32:17 PM EDT
M4 profile or HBAR. Which is better?  I have a Bushmaster XM15E2S and a friend has a RRA M4.  Mine is the 1/9 twist and his is the 1/7.  I want the removable carry handle and he wants to trade. My question is is there a disadvantage to the 1/7?  Oh and is that a fair trade? Both have collapseable stocks and look the same except for carry handles and barrels. Is RRA better than my Bushy?
Link Posted: 9/26/2005 9:46:12 PM EDT
HBAR vs govt profile I prefer the lighter govt profile.

Only reason not to have a 1/7 twist is if you want to shoot bullets lighter than 55gr.

RRA barrels are 4140 steel while bushmaster's are 4150 steel. Make sure the RRA is chromelined.
Link Posted: 9/27/2005 4:02:23 AM EDT

Originally Posted By topgunpilot20:

Only reason not to have a 1/7 twist is if you want to shoot bullets lighter than 55gr.
actually you can shoot down to 40grn. rounds through the 1/7 twist barrel (my 1/7s shoot the 45grn HPs by Winchester excellently) and up to the 77grn rounds

RRA barrels are 4140 steel while bushmaster's are 4150 steel. Make sure the RRA is chromelined.
majority of the RRA 1/7s are chrome-lined, IIRC

Mike
Link Posted: 9/27/2005 12:04:40 PM EDT

Originally Posted By mr_wilson:

actually you can shoot down to 40grn. rounds through the 1/7 twist barrel (my 1/7s shoot the 45grn HPs by Winchester excellently) and up to the 77grn rounds

majority of the RRA 1/7s are chrome-lined, IIRC

Mike

RRA makes 1/7s? I thought they only made 1/9 and 1/8.
Link Posted: 9/27/2005 4:48:17 PM EDT
How about the quality on the 2 guns?  About the same?
Link Posted: 9/27/2005 10:58:32 PM EDT
Craftsmanship is about the same, the BM just has harder steel.
Link Posted: 9/28/2005 4:53:55 AM EDT

RRA makes 1/7s? I thought they only made 1/9 and 1/8.