Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 9/14/2004 6:39:10 PM EST
This is my first time building an AR... I'm thinking about a bushmaster lower and a J&T kit to finnish it off.. I would like any helpful input that I could gather. Is J&T a good co.. All im really set on is the bushmaster lower..thanks
Link Posted: 9/14/2004 7:19:59 PM EST
[Last Edit: 9/14/2004 7:21:49 PM EST by Wingman26]
That will work fine, there are plenty of good lowers out there, Bushy is one of them.
Link Posted: 9/14/2004 7:22:33 PM EST
You can find cheaper lowers of same quality than BM. J and T is excellent in quality and price. If you really have your heart set on a BM lower, go for it.
Good Luck and Enjoy
Link Posted: 9/14/2004 9:34:29 PM EST
[Last Edit: 9/14/2004 9:35:48 PM EST by A_Free_Man]
I have built 2 with DPMS lowers, which match the uppers of the J&T kits perfectly. Not just a nice precise fit, but even down to the color and texture of the finish, a great match.

The lower receiver parts from J&T are as good as any I have seen.

I have been more than pleased with the J&T kits I have. They are as accurate as any similar AR, and best of all, go bang every time. One upper is relatively new, has a few hundred rounds through it. The other has about 1000 rnds, (3 battle packs and other ammo), and with all that, not one single failure to feed, fire, and eject perfectly. You just can't ask for more.

I think the Bushmaster lower is overpriced, but it is good quality. But so are the lowers from DPMS and Eagle Arms (Armalite), good quality at a more reasonable price.

Yes, J&T is good, or I would not have bought a second kit from them. I will buy from them in the future, too. For both of these kit orders, they were received in about 3 business days.

Ed to add, both kits were A2 uppers, 16" barrels.
Link Posted: 9/15/2004 6:42:48 AM EST
thanks a lot.... i'll look into a different lower
Link Posted: 9/15/2004 7:30:49 AM EST