Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
1/22/2020 12:12:56 PM
Posted: 10/10/2007 1:53:15 PM EST
I have thought about this for some time, and I must admit it amazes me how many people here have problems with their weapon functioning with certain brands of ammo. It seems with every thread about a certain brand, someone's weapon just doesn't want to run properly with that brand. I honestly believe that 75 to 80% of these problems are weapon related and not necessarily the ammo. I say this because I have been shooting AR's for over 20 years, and of the (3) weapons that I have none are finicky at all about what I shoot in them. I have a Colt & (2) Bushmasters and they all run with whatever I put in them. S&B, Winchester, PMC, South African, Ga. Arms, Guatemalan, Radway Green, Federal, Remington UMC, it just doesn't matter. The only ammo I have had problems with is the plastic case stuff that's no longer made, and it wouldn't work in any of my guns nor my friend's weapons either. My friends have AR's that are also problem free, and have had them for 20+ years with no malfunctions whatsoever. I use to have a Bushmaster carbine that would short stroke, but a quick trip to Bushmaster made it 100% reliable. I honestly believe that many weapons out there today are severely lacking in quality control, whether by mass production or because it's a parts gun that is a total whack job. I know carbines can be more problematic than 20" guns, and carbines have been all the rage the last 5 to 6 years. I just don't get all these ammo problems, again I say it's the mostly guns. Sure ammo can have quality control issues too, but in my lifetime AR's just don't give this much trouble. If my guns gave these kinds of problems, I would be trading them off in a New York minute. Flame suit on, sh*t storm ahead.
Link Posted: 10/10/2007 2:31:02 PM EST
I agree.