Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 3/20/2006 12:35:55 PM EDT
I'm planning on building my first 16" real soon.  I'm an Active Duty pilot in the Air Force, and I'm wondering if there are any suppliers out there who give discounts to active duty.

Here's what I have planned:
CMT Lower
CMT A3 Upper w/enhanced bolt carrier group
CMT Lower parts kit
16" - either fluted Stainless Steel 1/8 from Model 1 E.R Shaw, or CMMG 1/7 mid-length ($10 difference)
YHM 4-rail free-float
CMT 6-pos Stock

I'm going to try a speed sight, possibly the new Mueller if I can get it in black.  I like the Mueller tactical scope on my Savage LE 20".  I'm going with the CAR so it's light-weight for my wife to shoot, and be confident to use in home defense when I'm deployed.  Granted, I've heard bad things about Model 1, but nothing bad about their barrels.  $245 for a fluted SS sounds like a deal to me.  Any thoughts on these barrels?hanks!
Also, is there a functional difference between the CAR and mid-length?  Is one "better" than the other?
Link Posted: 3/20/2006 6:43:50 PM EDT
[#1]
Quite a few suppliers give military discounts. DPMS gives a 10% discount. Most will give a military discount if you ask.
Link Posted: 3/20/2006 6:59:38 PM EDT
[#2]
You are obviously on the track for a quality weapon, no input on that, but...

... just posting to say a really like your username ThirtyMikeMike (give me some on the tree line, ripple the sh!t out of them )
Link Posted: 3/20/2006 7:02:54 PM EDT
[#3]

Not a Darn thing wrong with Shaw barrels

The Midlength barrel slows down the cycling and is somewhat gentler on the moving parts.
It also looks cooler and lets you mount a bayonet.

IMHO - skip the stainless tube and get the chrome lined heavy barrel with flutes ,
or maybe even the lightweight barrel.

I would also suggest starting with an Eotech or Aimpoint - and a rear BUIS ,