Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 12/23/2002 6:47:13 AM EDT
Being an AR newbie, I'm pretty puzzled by my new AR's antics. Its jamming all the time. I might touch off a couple rounds and then a live round will get jammed with the base of the case above the bolt and the point of the round angled downward against or just past the feed ramp. The bolt will be half way closed and pressed solidly against the halfway point of the round. And the thing is JAMMED solid.

A former army at the range last night said it was probably either the mag or the buffer spring needed lube.

Any ideas? I'm going to strip it and lube everything (and hope little springs don't go flying into space when I do so).

Oh yeah, its a DPMS lower, J&T 16" upper. Mags are USA 40rd and a Who-Knows-Generic brand 20 rounder.
Link Posted: 12/23/2002 7:15:15 AM EDT
[#1]
Duck, Get yourself some USGI mags, That sounds like your problem.
Link Posted: 12/23/2002 7:28:49 AM EDT
[#2]
You say you are using 40 rd USA mags...and generic 20 rd mags...Well that there is you problem.  I hate to say this, but take all your USA & generic mags and throw them in the trash, they will never work correctly.

Save a few extra bucks and get some USGI used mags.  They will work, I guarantee it.  You can get either 20 or 30 rd mags. The cost will be around $20-30 each but they WILL WORK!

You will soon find, that AR15's are funny about the mags "they" use....if you use USGI you'll be all set, generic mags = JAM-O-MATIC.

Spend the $$ or you will always be upset with your AR15!

Link Posted: 12/23/2002 8:40:04 AM EDT
[#3]
I have a new AR and use only Sanchez USGI mags. 100 rounds through it so far. Not a single problem.
Link Posted: 12/23/2002 11:32:29 AM EDT
[#4]
When I was a Drill sgt, that happened alot, and it was always fixed with a new mag.
                     FREE
Link Posted: 12/23/2002 12:07:57 PM EDT
[#5]