Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 8/30/2004 1:48:24 PM EDT
I am thinking of building my first AR using a kit from model 1 sales. My question is, on their website they list an option of 5.56 NATO or .223 chamber. Is there a difference? I was under the impression they were the same. I have no previous experience with this caliber, so thought I'd ask. Thanks, jdman
Link Posted: 8/30/2004 2:04:49 PM EDT
[#1]
The .223 chamber is a bit "tighter".  

Get the 5.56 and you can shoot anything.
Link Posted: 8/30/2004 2:15:42 PM EDT
[#2]
Like stick man said 5.56 is a bit looser.

5.56 is the nato designation with a slightly larger chamber so it can fire both .223 and 5.56.

Because of the slightly smaller dimension of the .223 chamber, pressures will build up higher and could be dangersous.  That is it generally.
Link Posted: 8/30/2004 4:53:10 PM EDT
[#3]
Are there accuracy issues with the larger 5.56 chamber?  Thanks.

-YJ
Link Posted: 8/30/2004 6:26:05 PM EDT
[#4]
all you need to know.

Ammo guide

there's alot there, but that's what was given to me when I asked the same question.  lots of helpful info there.

edit: added link
Link Posted: 8/30/2004 7:13:19 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
I am thinking of building my first AR using a kit from model 1 sales. My question is, on their website they list an option of 5.56 NATO or .223 chamber. Is there a difference? I was under the impression they were the same. I have no previous experience with this caliber, so thought I'd ask. Thanks, jdman

DO NOT FIRE A 5.56 in a .223 chamber.  Not good for your health.

Get a 5.56 so you can shoot both without worrying about grabbing the wrong ammo at a group outing when folks have 5.56 and .223 on the table.
Link Posted: 8/31/2004 9:22:08 AM EDT
[#6]