Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 8/18/2006 3:01:43 PM EDT
I'm completely new to 2 stage triggers. I just installed a LMT 2 stage on my Bushmaster. I pull the trigger and hear a click then I have to pull again to disengage the hammer. Does this sound right? You can't pull all the way through on a 2 stage?
Link Posted: 8/18/2006 3:46:59 PM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:
I'm completely new to 2 stage triggers. I just installed a LMT 2 stage on my Bushmaster. I pull the trigger and hear a click then I have to pull again to disengage the hammer. Does this sound right? You can't pull all the way through on a 2 stage?

That sounds more like a set trigger rather than a two-stage.  A two-stage has a long pull with a point near the end of the travel in which there is a stop.  It then takes a bit more pressure to release the sear.  Usually, you do not want  perceptible movement to release the sear in the second stage.  

With a two-stage trigger it is possible to pull the trigger all the way to the rear to fire the rifle.  If the second stage is too light this can happen when you are taking up the slack in the first stage resulting in a discharge when you are not quite ready.

A set trigger can be set up in different ways.  Some you push the trigger forward to set, and then the trigger has a very light pull.  These triggers usually can fire the rifle with a heavy pull when not set.  Another type has two triggers.  The rear (usually) is the set trigger.  Pulling this one back sets the front for a light release.  Again, a heavy pull on the front  trigger normally fires the rifle too.

The last type is a single trigger in which the first pull sets the trigger, and it requires the trigger to be released and pulled again.  The second pull is often quite light.