Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 5/2/2003 5:17:15 AM EDT
Okay,I'm a newbie and unlike some of you I am unable to buy my ammo by the pallet!ht1,200 rounds of IMI M855 for $280.00(less if on sale) or 1,000 rounds of Black Hills 75gr remanufactured non-moly for $356.00?
It would be used in a Colt MT6400c(16",1/7twist)Please keep in mind this will be stored long term for a day I hope never comes, not for plinking.
Thanks, Timdog
Link Posted: 5/2/2003 5:24:43 AM EDT
[#1]
Provided that your rifle likes it and shoots it's best groups with it, I'd choose the 75grn.

I pick my SHTF ammo to store based on "what shoots best" in my rifles, no reason not to do the same.

Welcome to the site,
Mike
Link Posted: 5/2/2003 6:38:56 AM EDT
[#2]
For SHTF, my choice is M193 because

- Available in large quantities
- Good performance versus Cost inside "self-defense" ranges (under 300 yards)
- Works with all barrel twists
Link Posted: 5/2/2003 7:24:22 AM EDT
[#3]
You forgot to say "Cheap"!

M193 costs $150 per case of 1000.
Link Posted: 5/2/2003 7:26:09 AM EDT
[#4]
I understand the value of the M193 round as far as availabilty,cost and versatility but I am going to buy either M855 or the Black Hills for specific use with the 16" barrel,1/7 twist so I am only looking for the "Best" choice for this rifle.I want the round to be accurate and dependable for a variety of scenarios.
Thanks
Link Posted: 5/2/2003 7:49:43 AM EDT
[#5]
For about the same cost I would rather have 2,000 rds of M193 than 1,000 rds of BH for SHTF, because you can go through ammo real fast under stress.  M193 groups well in my 1/9 Bushy, and I agree that you should choose based on what is accurate in your rifle.