Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Build It Yourself
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 8/11/2003 10:04:59 AM EDT
I purchased a 3 piece flats set from stenparts.com. I'm new to ak47's so don't know a lot about them. I HAVE figured out that I need lower rails, which I'll get from sksman, but do I need a centersupport also? these flats are thick, and will be welded together. Also, what do I do for the top rails? 1 final ?. Does anyone besides JoeKen sell hesse receivers?

OJF
Link Posted: 8/11/2003 3:39:07 PM EDT
[#1]
I believe they use .060 flat stock to make the top rails if memory serves. I dont believe you would need a center support if its thick enough.
Link Posted: 8/12/2003 4:33:47 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 8/20/2003 5:22:58 PM EDT
[#3]
What's the reason for excluding JoeKen?  I just got mine a couple days ago from them.  Service couldn't have been better.  I ordered it at about 3am, had a confirmation at about 9:30am and tracking number about 1pm all in the same day.  The only thing i didn't like was the package was somewhat crushed, but that's big brown for ya.
Link Posted: 8/22/2003 8:20:43 PM EDT
[#4]
I don't like JoeKen because they rape their customers on S&H charges. $13.00 for a receiver that weighs 1/2 lb is a bit much.
                    OJF
Link Posted: 8/23/2003 7:14:50 AM EDT
[#5]

Hi, I got the jigs to bend the flats & top rails factory like after a lot of thinking, testing and working with a machine shop finally made it.  I got pics of a folded flat at ak-47.net and would like to post here if I can or learn how.  The price of the jigs (02) is $200.00 it may sound like much but after you bent two flats the jigs are FREE.  Besides after all from my standing point of work, material, testing, labor paid it is a very fair price.  If you are interested on one set please let me know check out the pics at ak-47.net.

If somebody can help me post the pics here it will be greatly appreciate it.