BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Discussions
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Site Notices
Posted: 3/7/2006 8:58:15 PM EDT
what do I need to know ?
I've researched a bit and see tons of varieties and a few reviews

are there certain models, serials, years, etc. to avoid ? (known problems, jams, stovepipes, etc.)

local shop I trust sells Romanian AKs for $400

but I want to make sure it's not a model/make/year that is known for problems before I spend $400+

of course I'll inspect the bore and everything I can before buying

this will be my first AK so any helpful feedback is greatly appreciated

Thank You

according to this thread
http://ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=4&f=93&t=70455
lots of people think Romanians are the lowest quality AKs hinking.gif
Link Posted: 3/7/2006 9:12:16 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm an AK newbie also.  From what I have researched, the bottom rung Romanian AK is the WASR 10.  This particular variant sells for $319.00 at AIM surplus, with a bayonet, sling, cleaning kit and mag pouch.

If your gun shop is selling a WASR 10 for $400.00 I would definately pass it up.  But there are other  variants of Romanian AK's out there, I think??  So just do some searching around and find what you like.
Link Posted: 3/7/2006 9:21:40 PM EDT
[#2]
good to know, thanks for the info
Link Posted: 3/7/2006 11:26:08 PM EDT
[#3]
Are there capsule-shaped dimples above the magazine well? This would indicate the rifle for sale is a SAR1.

www.themartialist.com/images/myak/akm%20receiver.jpg

If it is a WASR10 the area above the magazine well looks like this:

www.frontlinearmory.com/gunsmithing/wasr10/akk2.jpg