Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/19/2017 7:27:10 PM
Posted: 4/3/2006 8:23:43 AM EDT
Last night I tried installing the trigger guard. I don't have a jig for it. I had a bolt I milled a hole in the end for the rivet head. I clamped that in the vice then set up the reciever, trigger guard and rivet. I used another bolt for the inside to mash the rivet. It kind of bent the rivet to one side and mashed. It doesn't look as pretty as it did on my SAR I bought. On the SAR it's pushed flat where mine is bent to the side. Does this affect anything or is this how it usually turns out? Also, I can't figure out a damn way to mash the rivets for the front of the trigger guard. The center support gets in the way. How does everyone do it? It's my first build and I have nothing to go by.
Link Posted: 4/3/2006 9:50:16 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 4/3/2006 9:54:56 AM EDT by mykrowyre]
Doesnt really matter as long as it's secure. Only person that knows its there is you.

Could you squeeze something else under the support like a small steel plate, and then support it with another chunk of steel or a long socket while you hammer a red hot rivet in from the trigger guard side? Read about this but haven't tried it. Oh yeah don't head the head, only the shaft of the rivet.
Link Posted: 4/3/2006 10:34:54 AM EDT
I use a cheap air chisel I bought from Harbor Freight, use the chisel that comes to a point (I ground mine flat. You can work it onto the from rivets.
Link Posted: 4/3/2006 12:56:46 PM EDT

Originally Posted By HUNGARYAN:
I use a cheap air chisel I bought from Harbor Freight, use the chisel that comes to a point (I ground mine flat. You can work it onto the from rivets.

Or even put a little divot in it so you're not likely to fly off the rivet and damage your receiver.
Link Posted: 4/3/2006 2:04:31 PM EDT