Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Discussions
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 9/23/2005 2:39:50 AM EDT
Gentlemen & Ladies,

I am on the prowl again for ONE more kit to finish my AK binge.  Being a newbie I don't know the difference between all the different numbers and letters like AKM, AMD and all that. What I am looking for is a GOOD quality full sized AK with these things:

7.62mm X 39mm OR 5.56mm X 45mm (7.62mm preferred)

Fixed Stock.

Stamped receiver type

Regular or Carbine length, no long barrels

Other than that, just a good quality rifle that will serve as a reliable shooter. No "Safe Queen's" or Magazine Cover guns needed or wanted. I can always change the furniature, but if the wood is good I'd like to keep the 'stock' look as much as possible. No vertical front grips. (Again, as much as possible).

I'm looking for good quality, not cheap. Anyone have any suggestions? How hard is it to build a Yugo with one of them funny front trunions? Are receivers hard to get? Are Bulgarian AK's worth the added cost just for the chrome lined barrel? I don't expect the gun to l;ast forever and I clean my weapons good and care for them.

Oh and what is a "Dark Bore"? and is it a bad thing?

Thanks again gang.
Link Posted: 9/23/2005 4:01:09 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 9/23/2005 4:03:41 AM EDT
[#2]
I personally like the vertical foregrip.  I'd wait around for the unissued Yugo kits that are suppose to make their way to the market later this year.

Link Posted: 9/23/2005 4:13:36 AM EDT
[#3]
" Dark Bore" means the barrel is rusted. This description is most often applied to Yugo kits because the Yugoslavians used corrosive ammo and did not chrome line the barrels. Dark bore can mean light rust which can be cleaned or it can mean the bore looks like a sewer pipe. from reading this board I conclude that the Yugos are a crap shoot.