Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/19/2017 7:27:10 PM
Posted: 2/14/2006 11:57:22 AM EDT
This is going to be my first gun and my first build. I read the kits are sportmansguide are in great shape. I was also told that the Polish AK's are some of the finest ever made.

So I decided to go with a Polish AKMS Underfolder seen here.

A 1mm reciever from Global Trades, based right here in Houston.
http://www.globaltrades.com/ak_receivers.html

Then I was going to get a rivet set, US made muzzle break, US made piston, and US made trigger group.

The grand total would be ~$350 for all of this, would have one of the finest AK's made as planned?

I really do not have any experience building guns but I am mechanically inclined. I'm actually a computer builder, take a look at some of my work..

http://img129.imageshack.us/img129/3272/picture0125yp.jpg

I don't have any of the required tools though and was hoping someone in the Houston area could help me out with my first build. I'll do all the work I just need some guidance, I promise to bring all the beer you can drink!how
Link Posted: 2/14/2006 2:01:00 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 2/14/2006 2:01:46 PM EDT by beemerman]
Use the original piston. Use a US made handgrip instead. Otherwise sounds good.
Link Posted: 2/14/2006 2:42:25 PM EDT
Why use the original piston? I've heard people saying that US grips suck.
Link Posted: 2/14/2006 3:09:55 PM EDT
I bought me one of those kits....Be sure to clean the bore and eye ball it real good....I sent 2 back stating that not as described.....Bores were shot out.....Check the throat too...The second 1 I received looked like heavey leading but was in fact erroded...
Link Posted: 2/14/2006 3:31:16 PM EDT