Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 11/9/2003 10:46:51 AM EDT
I got this today: I heard Kim Komando (www.Komando.com) talk about it yesterday...this one is very good: you have to watch the Address bar as it cycles to see the ".ru" suffix in the address. This one is catching thousands of people because the page looks so real.

The other one out this week is "Verify your E-Bay account"...it seems that one is just as good. These are much more sophisticated that the "Pay_Pal" one out a few weeks back.

Bottom line: Major financial and Internet companies ( the first one "AOL" was so bad few fell for it) DO NOT SEND THIS KIND OF MESSAGE, PERIOD, END OF SENTENCE.

Do not fall for this stuff.

I included the text so you can see how well it could work...in IE, watch the "displayed" URL change to one that looks real. Click on the link.

Here you are. Be careful out there. This is the SCAM Message:

Dear Citibank Member,

This email was sent by the Citibank server to verify your e-mail
address. You must complete this process by clicking on the link
below and entering in the small window your Citibank ATM/Debit
Card number and PIN that you use on ATM.
This is done for your protection -- because some of our members
no longer have access to their email addresses and we must
verify it.

To verify your e-mail address and access your bank account,
click on the link below. If nothing happens when you click on the
link (or if you use AOL), copy and paste the link into the address
bar of your web browser.


Thank you for using Citibank!
".ru" means Russia in the suffix and is the Russian Mafia. Spread this around. Relatively "Inter-Net Savy" people are giving them bank accounts and passwords as it looks so real.

You can see the "zapwltogn.Da.rU" . "

Top Top