Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 1/10/2006 5:14:17 AM EDT
We keep a variety of odds and ends guns at the range for familiarization. One of these was an old MAK-90, made by NORINCO and imported (according to the receiver) by B-West Imports out of Tuscon AZ. Since I am a complete AK imbecile, I'm looking for some assistance

The wood thumbhole stock was split this week, and we are considering whether or not it's worth replacing. Since the stock was shot anyway, I was considering putting on something other than wood. It's nothing special, and quite frankly I'm of a mind to just destroy the receiver, but it's better to have as the saying goes...

Ok, so here's the question. First, dont be a hater; for those of you purists, I know the only good AK has wood on it. We want synthetic, if possible. Second, as the name implies yes I am a police officer and no I'm not trying to trick you into committing a criminal act.

That being said, is it possible to install synthetic furniture (other than the dragunov style)? We tried moving some we had from an instructor's rifle (TAPCO for milled receiver) but no luck. Neither the stock nor the handguards fit. Same with a set designed for stamped receivers.

Is there a conversion block that can be added to the stock?

Pics of the receiver below...

Thanks for any assistance.

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c354/nturavrgcop/th_ReceiverClose-up.jpg
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c354/nturavrgcop/th_MAKReceiver2.jpg
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c354/nturavrgcop/th_MAKReceiverCloseup.jpg
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c354/nturavrgcop/th_MAKReceiver.jpg

Link Posted: 1/10/2006 5:43:29 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 1/10/2006 5:52:27 AM EDT by Jicky]
That's a slant cut receiver so I know you can get wood for it from Ironwood, but I don't know about synthetic..