Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Discussions
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Site Notices
Posted: 7/19/2010 7:56:21 PM EDT
I'm still learning about AK's and the like.. I Just picked up this example; I was hoping that someone would help me figure out extactly what it's supposed to be ––  A couple of pictures below; unfortunately all I have right now until I have the rifle in my hands; all ser #'s match.

–– No "sporter" electro
–– Trunion for underfolder is present but fixed stock.
–– serial is 9204xx
–– GLNIC import.

So my assumption is that it came in after the 89 ban hence the 92 on the serial number but one thing I'm confused/curious about is no "sporter" due it being from '92 not the 94 release. As for the underfolder, was it fitted with a fixed stock or did this come this way?

Link Posted: 7/19/2010 8:29:02 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm curious about that one.

Since it is a MAK, it was originally imported with a thumbhole and it lacks the bayo lug and cleaning rod "ears" on the FSB.  Obviously someone added the PG and stock at some point but I'm not sure about the trunnion since both the original thumbhole and the stock it now wears both require a rear tang.  WIth the stock on it now I would assume that it also has an opening in the rear of the reciever unlike the UF trunnions.  Did they put standard fixed stock trunnions in these underfolder MAKs?
Link Posted: 7/19/2010 8:55:46 PM EDT
[#2]
There were underfolder MAK's on the way in when the ban went into effect.  To make the rifle legal, they plugged the holes for the underfolder and put on a fixed thumbhole stock.

That one probably doesn't say sporter just because it originally wasn't a sporter, it was an underfolder rifle.  I doubt there would be any need to mark it as a sporter as long as it conformed to the ban requirements.

That is technically a post ban rifle.  Needs to meet 922r and whatever NY specific laws there are for post ban AKs.
Link Posted: 7/19/2010 9:22:48 PM EDT