Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Hungarian
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 12/23/2005 11:10:37 AM EDT
Hey everybody! I am new to the amd 65 and I have purchased one from a guy thru a friend. I geuss I should have looked it over a little better, but thats my fault. ( overly exited). I am thinking about stripping it down and redoing it. The guy who built it tack welded the rivets/ pins in that hold it together and give it rather a crappy look. I was thinking about field stripping it and sandblasting it and clean up the tacks. Is sandblasting a good idea? What kind of easy and somewhat inexpensive paint/coating should I use? I'm not looking to have a show piece but I do want it to look decent. I have only shot 3 30 round clips through it and it seems to shoot well except for the one clip seems to let it jam up every 2-4 shots! It has a 3 inch muzzle brake on it now, but I heard that it has to be 4 inches and permently attached to make it legal. Is this true? Thanks for anybody's help and info.
Link Posted: 12/23/2005 1:34:55 PM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:
Is sandblasting a good idea?

If it can't take sandblasting, you probably shouldn't shoot it.

What kind of easy and somewhat inexpensive paint/coating should I use?

A lot of originals were paint over parkerization.  A park job can be pretty cheap, especially if you find somebody from the board near you that can do it.  Spray paint is better than some original finishes on AKs.  Some of mine, I just spray painted until I get the time/money to blast, park and paint.

Another option is baking laquer from Brownells.  Sandblast, spray, then bake.

Search for Norells Moly Resin, as well.   Lot's of folks do that at home.

I have only shot 3 30 round clips through it and it seems to shoot well except for the one clip seems to let it jam up every 2-4 shots!

Sarge.  It's a magazine.  A clip is what you use to charge an SKS.  Or, hold your wife's hair.