Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Member Login

Posted: 12/17/2009 3:24:29 PM EDT
I'm new to the AK world, and I am looking for one as a SHTF utilitarian lead slinger. Don't care if the furniture is crappy, just want reliable function. That said, what do you guys think of this one:

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=150533880

or this one:

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=149998268

I admit that I don't know shit about the variances between the AKs from different countries. I just want a good, reliable backup.

Any advice is welcome.
Link Posted: 12/17/2009 3:52:31 PM EDT
I can't speak for any of the other AKM's out there, but I have a WASR-10, and I've had no problems with it for over 1.5k rounds, and minimal cleaning (AR gets all the love). Simple enough to use, clean, disassemble. But like I said, there are better quality AKM's out there, but I've never had reliablity problems with mine.
But I do know of a cheaper place to buy one, and it comes with the bayonet and slant flash hider. And 2 mags. (PS: they have some pretty cheap steel mags too). And they're Industry Partners.

http://www.aimsurplus.com/acatalog/Romanian_GP-WASR_10_63_7.62x39_Rifle.html
Link Posted: 12/17/2009 3:54:07 PM EDT
I prefer Romanian Sar-1 and Sar-2 rifles.
Link Posted: 12/17/2009 3:56:25 PM EDT
A Romanian will do anything an Arsenal will do. Reliability is on the same level as any other AK. Accuracy is the same too.

The WASR deal at Aim Surplus is a good deal.

Link Posted: 12/17/2009 4:00:34 PM EDT
Romanian AKs aren't fancy but they work. My SAR-1 runs like a champ. .
Link Posted: 12/17/2009 4:12:49 PM EDT
Is there any down side to having an under folder?
Link Posted: 12/17/2009 4:14:45 PM EDT
The under folder can be a little bit uncomfortable.

Some times the locking mechanims is a little bit playful.  That is there is some wiggle in it.
Link Posted: 12/17/2009 4:20:14 PM EDT