Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
1/16/2020 9:48:49 PM
Posted: 9/3/2009 2:27:06 PM EST
Here's a little about myself. I've been a motorcycle nut for several years. Mostly British Iron. Right now I have a 71 Bonneville rat bike. While looking and collecting bikes and vintage junk I've picked up a 1960 15' fiberglass Owens Speed Boat with a 75 HP Evenrude Starflight II, a 1973 Harley Golf Cart, a 84 Yammer Hammer Maxium, and a 81 Honda CB750C. I got the honda for the motor. I was going to put it in the golf cart. My back yard was starting to look like a junk yard so I started trading and selling my stuff. This is where I got my AK and a few other nice rifles. I traded my honda which I had only $50 in (it was a barn find) for a Thompson Center Benchmark Classic 22lr with a 4x12 scope and my Romanian WASR 10. The AK was a toss in, too boot kinda deal. The 22 is mint.

My AK has a 5/8' craftsman deep well socket tack welded to the sides of the front sight. It also has an AR stock that has been ground down on the sides to fit into the receiver with some serious weld around that. He did flip for a quad rail setup on the front hand guards and a new pistol grip. Very confusing! So now I'm on the hunt for a good deal on top and bottom hand guards, matching stock, a slant brake and cleaning rod to slip in the front to make it look somewhat presentable.

Thanks. I can offer some pictures if you're looking for a good laugh. ha ha

Justin
Link Posted: 9/3/2009 5:14:36 PM EST
pictures
Link Posted: 9/3/2009 5:39:19 PM EST
Please post - I love looking that the "hoopty" AK builds.
Link Posted: 9/3/2009 7:21:04 PM EST
+1 on the pictures . . . this should be entertaining. :)
Link Posted: 9/4/2009 1:50:14 AM EST
Originally Posted By triumphbonne71:
My AK has a 5/8' craftsman deep well socket tack welded to the sides of the front sight.

I'm dying to know why this was done.
Link Posted: 9/4/2009 4:42:33 AM EST