Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 11/7/2016 4:01:22 AM EDT
So I've been Reloading for about 5 years now.  Well over 100k rounds under my belt.  Well I decided to try this annealing thing.  I saw some post on here and got that thermal paste stuff (name is slipping me).   My question is, what step in the  process is annealing?  Tumble, size, deprime.... do i anneal b4 I size or after?
Link Posted: 11/7/2016 6:55:42 AM EDT
[#1]
before resizing.

annealing softens the brass that was work hardened and will prevent cracking of case necks. It also if do e properly will provide more consistent neck tension.
Link Posted: 11/7/2016 5:28:27 PM EDT
[#2]
do i need to size right after i anneal or can it wait y?    and by right after, i mean after the case is able to be held w/o burning myself
Link Posted: 11/7/2016 6:01:14 PM EDT
[Last Edit: lizARdman15] [#3]
Let it be room temp.

Some annealers drop them in water which will need to dry in order to prevent hydraulic dents.

Link Posted: 11/7/2016 6:48:06 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By lizARdman15:
Let it be room temp.

Some annealers drop them in water which will need to dry in order to prevent hydraulic dents.

View Quote

awesome, thanks
Link Posted: 11/8/2016 1:32:27 PM EDT
[Last Edit: AZ_Sky] [#5]
After years of reloading, I just started annealing after getting into long range shooting with my Ruger Precision Rifle 6.5 Creedmoor.

I tried the 'case in the deepwell socket and torch' method, but I just couldn't get repeatable results and I ended up over-temping and ruining just as many cases as I successfully annealed so I abandoned that technique.
I couldn't afford one of those fancy annealing machines so I went another direction that was inexpensive, works perfectly, it's easy, and absolutely repeatable for me.