Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/1/2018 8:25:10 PM EDT
Hello gents ,

Have a ar10 lower sitting so I have decided to build it out.  Looking to go 6.5 cm and while the barrel from Proof research is expensive does it actually meet people expectations in accuracy department?

So if any of you have shot, own or care to enlighten me on any pro's and con's that would be great. I am trying to make a lightish weight large frame ar10 if I can. Will be a long range rig obviously and will probably pair it with a NF scope

Thanks,
CC
Link Posted: 8/5/2018 9:02:34 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm a Long Range instructor so I have seen a handful of precision gas guns on the line.
I put a Proof 20" 6.5 CM with the +2 gas system in my LaRue because my Larue barrel will NOT shoot for shit (1.25-1.5 MOA w/ 5 shots)
I tried 4-5 different types of match ammo and through the Proof and the best I can remember it was a solid 3/4-1" MOA rifle with a few of the different types of match ammo.
I hand loaded with the older 140 AMAX using H4350 powder and I was very very impressed.
I was getting an easy 1/2 MOA at 100y and closer to 1 MOA out to 600y which is where most gas guns fall apart.
The overall balance of the rifle alone is worth spending the extra $$ on!
Link Posted: 8/5/2018 2:41:43 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By Shadow_Warrior:
I'm a Long Range instructor so I have seen a handful of precision gas guns on the line.
I put a Proof 20" 6.5 CM with the +2 gas system in my LaRue because my Larue barrel will NOT shoot for shit (1.25-1.5 MOA w/ 5 shots)
I tried 4-5 different types of match ammo and through the Proof and the best I can remember it was a solid 3/4-1" MOA rifle with a few of the different types of match ammo.
I hand loaded with the older 140 AMAX using H4350 powder and I was very very impressed.