Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/12/2022 8:09:44 PM EDT
I’ve heard from many people and sites that scouting for coyotes is crucial to success. But being a beginner I really don’t know how to do this. I’ve drove around to spots I’ve heard coyotes before and played a locater call on my e-caller but I’ve never gotten a response.

Is there a certain time of day that works best for scouting? Should I try and get out of my car and walk into the land a bit to call? Any tips would be helpful.

For reference I live in fairly flat agricultural land.
Link Posted: 1/12/2022 8:13:11 PM EDT
[Last Edit: slankford] [#1]
Tagging for later
Link Posted: 1/12/2022 8:19:00 PM EDT
[#2]
Invest in thermal, that call may be working
Link Posted: 1/12/2022 8:21:28 PM EDT
[#3]
Originally Posted By tanner_sinn04:
I’ve heard from many people and sites that scouting for coyotes is crucial to success. But being a beginner I really don’t know how to do this. I’ve drove around to spots I’ve heard coyotes before and played a locater call on my e-caller but I’ve never gotten a response.

Is there a certain time of day that works best for scouting? Should I try and get out of my car and walk into the land a bit to call? Any tips would be helpful.

For reference I live in fairly flat agricultural land.
View Quote

You ever get snow? Tracks are easy to see. In the winter you can see where the have trails through fences and ditches but this is the high desert.
Link Posted: 1/12/2022 8:23:01 PM EDT
[#4]
I’ve only seen 1 coyote when deer hunting.  I’ve got several on one of my game cameras.  All at night.  Deer season is over here in Georgia and I’m sure it’s quite different here than there.    I’m going to my property this weekend and putting out a piece of chicken and sit in my platform stand and see what happens.  Might take a nap.  I don’t know anything about scouting them.  Looking to responses to your thread to learn more.