Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/25/2018 11:55:36 AM EDT
I spend a number of days up north hunting grouse and woodcock - often in very wet, boggy areas.  My Irish Setter lightweight boots are great for walking in
until they get wet.  Rubber barn boots are great for keeping water out, not so much for walking long distances.

So - any suggestions for a boot that fits snug, reasonably light, comfortable over long walks, and keeps my feet dry in 8" to 10" puddles and mud.

The classic LL Bean rubbers might be OK but I think they are all insulated for winter use.  I need very light insulation if any since we're talking about above
freezing temps most of the time.
Link Posted: 10/25/2018 11:58:53 AM EDT
[#1]
I have been wearing Muck Boots for 12 years. I have several pairs that I use for everything from summer dog training to fall hunting. They happen to fit my feet well and keep me dry.
Link Posted: 10/25/2018 12:00:59 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 10/25/2018 12:13:28 PM EDT
[#3]
Original Bean boots are un-insulated, however they suck, are expensive for what they are, and wear out quickly.

LaCrosse Grange boots fit well and are fine for walking.  Also un-insulated.
Link Posted: 10/25/2018 12:26:02 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Le Chameau is what you seek.

Best boots.
View Quote
This ^ except the moleskin lines version which cost a fraction of the leather liner version in the link.

They last too; I’ve had a pair more than a decade, with regular use.

Here’s a jersey lined version also at Orvis for less than 1/2 the cost of the leather lined version: https://m.orvis.com/category/Le%20chameau%20boots/2CR3/

A good pair of Wellington’s will also due for less $,  it won’t last as long and aren’t as comfortable as the Le  Chamaeu
Link Posted: 10/25/2018 12:31:49 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted: