Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/20/2022 8:03:06 AM EDT
I have a 25 degree rated sleeping bag which is comfortable to me down to about 40 degrees.  Rather than buying a second sleeping bag with a lower rating would wrapping it with a quilt extend the performance?  Of course the answer is yes, but is it worth it compared to purchasing another sleeping bag.  I am talking about the “sleeping bag replacement quilts” that are popular these days, not just grandmas quilt on the daybed.

Looking to be able to sleep down to about zero so for me probably needs a total rating of -15 or something.

I do understand the importance of ground insulation.

Thoughts on sleeping bag and quilt combos vs just buy another bag?
Link Posted: 7/20/2022 8:05:15 AM EDT
[#1]
I've tried using blankets with a sleeping bag and they did very little. Insulating yourself from the ground does help though. Bivy sack can be helpful as well.
Link Posted: 7/20/2022 8:11:22 AM EDT
[#2]
I have used one of the synthetic "camp blanket" things to increase the cold protection of a 40 degree bag and it worked great.

If you are getting cold don't forget to pay attention to what you are on as well, sometimes more improvement comes from better insulating from the ground.
Link Posted: 7/20/2022 8:13:49 AM EDT
[#3]
I have found the more insulation I had between me and the ground, the warmer I was.

Dig sleeping pit, line with pine needles grass etc. Put tarp over then pad then sleeping back. Plus a quilt sucks to carry.
Link Posted: 7/20/2022 8:36:54 AM EDT
[#4]
Quilts are great and yes I know what you're talking about and it's not from grandma's house.  Just remember they're meant to be paired with a good insulating ground pad.

I'll try to dig up a chart that shows the temp ratings for layering bags with quilts and different ground pads.