Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/9/2020 3:02:25 PM EDT
Been looking it over and talked to a few people about a carry gun for my home for the wife they all say just get a Judge.

Now I read that the Judge can't use Ruger only hot rounds or did I read wrong? Anyway, would a standard pressure 45 LC round work better than a standard pressure 357 mag round on a hog?

45LC in a Ruger Blackhawk is what I want to carry unless I find a Redhawk in 45 LC/45 ACP. I have yet to enjoy hunting a hog so I have very little experience everything I have hunted walks on two feet. Thanks!
Link Posted: 6/9/2020 3:20:24 PM EDT
[#1]
That completely depends on the size of the hog.  I would have no worries or concerns taking a medium sized barbecue pig with a standard 45LC round, but I would not want to go up against a 400-pound Russian boar.

And shot placement.  And bullet selection.
Link Posted: 6/9/2020 3:21:16 PM EDT
[#2]
As with many other rounds, it depends a lot on bullet placement. I've killed hogs with: .50 cal round ball, 158 gr 357, 44-40 hard cast lead, and one with a 45 ACP, the older CCI lawman "flying ashcan" bullet.. Look up the ballistics on all the cartridges including the 45 Colt and make up your mind from there. All my shots were less than 50 yards, and were ear/head shots or neck shots.
Link Posted: 6/9/2020 4:45:38 PM EDT
[#3]
Yes, you can. Shot placement is always critical. I've dispatched hogs in traps with a .22 LR. Put it where you want it and the 45 will work.  Having said that, I wouldn't want to be relying on it if the hog is charging at me, but that's because I don't shoot as well when my shorts get wet.
Link Posted: 6/9/2020 4:46:16 PM EDT
[#4]
Understand! Yet you feel that a standard pressure 45 LC off the shelf box would do more damage than a 357 mag?