Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/29/2023 1:16:44 PM EDT
[Last Edit: tooly]
Iron crap leaves to much small creases. I'm looking for more of a real dedicated mylar bag sealer.
Any recommendations guys would be very much appreciated.
Link Posted: 5/29/2023 3:26:17 PM EDT
[#2]
16 inch impulse sealer
Looks like the price has gone up by 30% since I bought one 4 years ago.

MissingImage
Failed To Load Product Data

Link Posted: 5/30/2023 11:20:34 AM EDT
[#3]
I started with a level and a iron and did okay - some failures.
Then I moved to a conair women's hair straightener - some failures
Then I felt spendy and used this purpose built model.  There are several versions on the same design.  I like the grid pattern - may have decreased my failure rate - not sure.

https://www.grainger.com/product/13F532?gucid=N:N:PS:Paid:GGL:CSM-2295:4P7A1P:20501231&gclsrc=ds&gclsrc=ds

Lesson learned:  I'm not good at this no matter the tool.
Link Posted: 5/31/2023 11:01:48 AM EDT
[#4]
I'm cheap, I use my Food Saver and just run the sealer thing two or three times.  I've got some rice and beans that are five or six years old and still holding vacuums.  I probably need to get rid of those old beans; even with a pressure cooker they get pretty meh.  
Link Posted: 6/14/2023 11:31:34 PM EDT
[#5]
Bought a impulse sealer on line.
Tried it twice and I didn’t like it.
Bought a curling iron and a iron.
Curling iron works best for me
Jm2c
Link Posted: 6/16/2023 9:50:13 AM EDT
[#6]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By Mobilty6:
Bought a impulse sealer on line.
Tried it twice and I didn’t like it.
Bought a curling iron and a iron.
Curling iron works best for me
Jm2c
View Quote

Really...impulse sealer coming today...Tried a hair straightener and it left lines in it.
Link Posted: 6/19/2023 4:02:46 PM EDT
[#7]
I use a flat iron.
Seals great
Link Posted: 6/19/2023 4:18:31 PM EDT
[#8]