Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/15/2021 10:53:14 PM EDT
Newbie here.

Getting 90s on Tech and General practice exams.

Finally found an in stock RTLSDR and pounced.

I am currently trying to install the software to make it work on my Linux Mint laptop.

Prayers are appreciated. This is gonna be rough. I can feel it.
Link Posted: 4/15/2021 10:56:58 PM EDT
[#1]
I like gqrx-sdr

sudo apt install gqrx-sdr

Link Posted: 4/15/2021 11:24:02 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm going to try it, but I have to install stuff first for the dongle. My cmake was outdated, the version in the store is outdated, trying to manually install with pip now.
Link Posted: 4/15/2021 11:41:54 PM EDT
[#3]
None of the supplied commands are working to create the blacklist file and add the line of code.

I can do it from the command line every time I plug the dongle is so I'll do that for... Ever.
Link Posted: 4/15/2021 11:46:17 PM EDT
[#4]
Sdr dongle tests functional. Installing gqrx-sdr now.
Link Posted: 4/16/2021 12:02:10 AM EDT
[#5]
GQRX installed. I can see the waterfall. Currently monitoring CB freqs starting at channel 1 (26.965mHz). I live next to a major highway. Seemed like the easiest test set.
Link Posted: 4/16/2021 12:03:21 AM EDT
[#6]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
GQRX installed. I can see the waterfall. Currently monitoring CB freqs starting at channel 1 (26.965mHz). I live next to a major highway. Seemed like the easiest test set.
View Quote

Usually the easiest to tune in is commercial FM stations. Strong signal, well known freqs, always broadcasting.
Link Posted: 4/16/2021 12:10:50 AM EDT
[#7]
I'm going to try to listen to the TIME on google specified frequencies. Personally, I'm not seeing anything on the waterfall but noise patterns and I think the supplied antenna is garbage.
Link Posted: 4/16/2021 12:39:05 AM EDT
[#8]