Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/28/2021 8:42:10 AM EDT
I'd like to get a decent, entry level thermal scope.

I need a good image out to 200 yards or so. Much of our ranch is oak hammock and brush.

We employ pvs 14's now, but I think thermal would be awesome.

I don't need wiz-bang recording options. I just want a durable scope that performs.

Any offerings in the $2K - $2.5K range? As I'm not that technical, the reviews and specs confuse the hell out of me. Moving shots are a must if there is a certain frame rate threshold for that.

Thanks.
Link Posted: 4/28/2021 9:18:02 AM EDT
[#1]
I’ve had both the Hogster R25 and the AGM Rattler 25. I like the AGM better for the onboard recording and the ability to bluetooth connect to your phone via the t-vision app. The button setup on the AGM is also a little easier to navigate than the hogster, but outside of that, they are very comparable in performance. Both are similar in price as well ($1800-2300) depending on where you purchase.
Link Posted: 4/28/2021 10:00:43 AM EDT
[#2]
Try the rentals first. Nothing like first hand knowledge.
Link Posted: 4/28/2021 11:48:36 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By SOVIETsilence:
I’ve had both the Hogster R25 and the AGM Rattler 25. I like the AGM better for the onboard recording and the ability to bluetooth connect to your phone via the t-vision app. The button setup on the AGM is also a little easier to navigate than the hogster, but outside of that, they are very comparable in performance. Both are similar in price as well ($1800-2300) depending on where you purchase.
View Quote

Nice.

I found the following vid pretty helpful for distinguishing the R25 and R35. I'm not for making rash decisions, but if a few hundred more improves the picture a good bit, I'll probably lean that way.
Link Posted: 4/28/2021 11:48:53 AM EDT
[#4]
Originally Posted By sparkyD: