Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/15/2018 1:35:12 PM EDT
I am new to hunting, only tagged along a few times.

How do you decide who is shooter that day or for the next bull you see? What systems do you guys use?

I will be bowhunting this year with 2 other guys. I will be up there by myself during the week most of the time unless they can get work off.
Link Posted: 2/15/2018 3:02:04 PM EDT
[#1]
When we elk hunt it could be up to 4 people in the party.  We are never close enough to each other to decide who's shooting.  
When bow or rifle hunting, before light we get out a topo and decide who's working the ridge, who's working the side hills, who's working the hollows.
Try to organize the hunt so when walking the terrain if you jump an elk, you'll drive him into an area with one of your party.
Idaho doesn't have a safety orange clothing rule, but if you have a B tag which is firearm friendly, at the least have a blaze orange camo'd hat and put some florescent trail tape on the back of your jacket.
Link Posted: 2/18/2018 4:10:25 PM EDT
[#2]
My wife always gets to shoot first.
Link Posted: 3/1/2018 8:21:18 PM EDT
[#3]
I hunt mostly by myself.  In the past I have always done what 50-140 said.  Either we agree on where we are hunting on a map or by pointing out where we are going to be.  Last group hunt I did we all had radios and we would turn them on if we heard a shot so we could go help out packing out the Elk.
Link Posted: 3/29/2018 11:52:14 AM EDT
[#4]
Try to decide who gets the first shot by picking straws or cutting a deck of cards.  Rotate it everyday of the hunt.  Unless children are involved and let them shoot first.
Link Posted: 3/31/2018 1:08:18 AM EDT
[#5]