Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 8/10/2022 7:46:32 PM EDT
I’m new to HAM radio and I was reading that frequency 146.520 is the 2M national calling frequency. I’ve considered setting my radio on that frequency while traveling while also putting a bumper sticker on my vehicle to see if I get any contacts that way.

Does 146.520 have traffic on it?
Link Posted: 8/10/2022 7:59:19 PM EDT
[#1]
Sky King, Sky King, Sky King, do not answer.
Link Posted: 8/10/2022 8:09:58 PM EDT
[#2]
I hear a little traffic on it too far away to make out the transmissions most days.

Make contacts about once a month.

If you don't call, you don't know if anyone is listening.  A bumper sticker is a good idea.
Link Posted: 8/10/2022 8:22:48 PM EDT
[#3]
I keep one side on it when traveling and one side on repeaters. Drove from here to Florida last year and never heard a peep. I've heard a bit at home when monitoring band openings .

I've got some .520 contacts but never on the road
Link Posted: 8/10/2022 8:26:10 PM EDT
[#4]
PA to FL last winter…heard traffic on .520.  Couple of guys in Fayetteville NC enjoying themselves.  And that was with a HT.  A Co-linear on the trunk lid would have been much better.
Link Posted: 8/10/2022 8:39:26 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:
I hear a little traffic on it too far away to make out the transmissions most days.

If you don't call, you don't know if anyone is listening.  A bumper sticker is a good idea.i
View Quote

I might have the wife cut me a 146.520 Monitoring decal for my Trucks back window...
Quoted:
I keep one side on it when traveling and one side on repeaters. Drove from here to Florida last year and never heard a peep. I've heard a bit at home when monitoring band openings .

I've got some .520 contacts but never on the road.
View Quote

I do the same, one on our clubs repeater or a secondary and one on 146.520...