Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/21/2019 9:42:40 PM EDT
IL allows crossbow hunting during the archery deer season.

Draw weight must be between 125-200lbs.

I have no archery experience with either crossbows or regular bows.

I'd like to keep the cost below $400. Hoping for less than $350.

Any recommendations?  What should I look for? What accessories are useful?
Link Posted: 11/22/2019 9:25:46 AM EDT
[#1]
I recommend you visit crossbownation.com There's a wealth of information there to guide you to the best choice for you based on your priorities, the amount of money you want to spend, and value for the dollar. Remember that all else being equal, the fastest crossbows will require more maintenance.
Link Posted: 11/22/2019 9:38:04 AM EDT
[#2]
As far as accessories you'll need a bolt quiver, bolts, broadheads, and rail lube. You'll end up buying more than that, trust me. Get a decent scope that is designed for crossbows with multiple crosshairs for different distances. It's easier to hit what you're aiming at using a scope. I bought a Hawke. They're inexpensive and they work well. I've had mine for around 5 years now. Bolt quivers are made to be attached to the crossbow. I prefer to carry mine in my backpack rather than attach it to my crossbow. I like to use 100 grain expandable heads for the slightly higher speed, and therefore less drop, and the fact that they fly like field tips with field tip consistency as far as point of impact. I like the Grim Reapers, there are others that work just as well.
Link Posted: 11/22/2019 11:58:55 AM EDT
[#3]
Thx, I'll head over to crossbownation.

Good info!
Link Posted: 11/22/2019 6:45:21 PM EDT
[#4]
Good time to shop with Black Friday sales coming. I prefer reverse draw crossbows. Much better balance in my opinion than traditional models with limbs out front.
Link Posted: 11/25/2019 1:50:39 AM EDT
[#5]
I just got into the crossbow game.