Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/14/2021 8:46:32 AM EDT
Newbie here. So our annual family beach trip to Oak Island, NC is coming up and I was considering on bringing out my radio to TX from the deck of the beach house. Planning on bringing an Arrow J-pole and my mobile Yaesu FTM-400xdr because they’re easy to set up. Repeaters are pretty quiet here near Charlotte and I’m wondering if I will get crickets on 2M/70cm even though I would think that propagation at the beach would be good since it’s so flat. Also, I noticed that there is an ARRL >50 MHz QSO contest for the first 2 days of vacation. I’m not a contester but may make an exception.

I have an Icom 7300 but I don’t feel like hauling a larger antenna and the rig down to the beach.

Maybe it’s a dumb question because no one can predict how busy the air will be but wondered if anyone has made a similar decision.
Link Posted: 5/14/2021 9:13:58 AM EDT
[#1]
I'd take both...

Link Posted: 5/14/2021 9:30:29 AM EDT
[#2]
This is what they make the IC-705 for. Couple it with a small telescoping pole (crappie pole, Sotabeams, etc.) and you'll be on HF and VHF with minimal setup and hassle.

As long as the family doesn't mind you playing radio on vacation I'd say go for it!
Link Posted: 5/14/2021 9:50:05 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
This is what they make the IC-705 for. Couple it with a small telescoping pole (crappie pole, Sotabeams, etc.) and you'll be on HF and VHF with minimal setup and hassle.

As long as the family doesn't mind you playing radio on vacation I'd say go for it!
View Quote

Ha. Within the last few months, I’ve already ponied up $2-$3k for a new 7300 / FTM-400 / FT3DR ham shack and I’m (potentially) spending another $300 for a battery and j-pole for the beach so my wife may not take kindly if I tell her I need a 4th radio.