Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/15/2018 12:30:17 PM EDT
I've heard there are a host of new laws in CA this year and I haven't really kept up with them. I live in NV and drive to LA a few times a year to visit my family for the holidays. I typically take a pistol with me, mag capacity under 10 rounds, and keep it locked in a lockbox unloaded in the car. Obviously I am bringing loaded mags also... is this an issue with the new ammo laws? I'm a NV resident with NV plates and if i'm driving in CA with gun/ammo in the car it is only while travelling into or out of the state.
Link Posted: 12/15/2018 2:50:33 PM EDT
[#1]
Loaded mags are no problem, even on your person. Pistol unloaded in any locked container other than a utility or glove box is fine. Ammo import ban doesn't apply to non-Californians if for personal use. For your situation, nothing's really changed (yet; I'm sure we're getting boned again this session).
Link Posted: 12/17/2018 1:32:11 AM EDT
[#2]
Topic is of interest to me. So I have to keep my pistol in a locked case rather than the glove box or centre console but keeping a mag or tow on my person is fine?  Capacity limit is 10 rounds?

Pretty sure my AR's are all far too scary for CA, so what are the rules for a shotgun?
Link Posted: 12/17/2018 2:28:36 AM EDT
[#3]
For whatever reason there is no sticky for travel issues for California.  So the answers are dug up, posted and discussed frequently.  Here's the Ca. DoJ website on travel.

https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/travel