Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/23/2019 7:18:42 PM EDT
My wife is considering a job in ABQ so a move there might be in our future. She is an accountant and I am an IT professional and we live in central AZ now,

We are looking at Rio Rancho as a place to live as some people say it is nice and homes seem reasonable there. I have read some other threads on here saying what a POS ABQ and NM are in regards to corruption and other BS. Is it really that bad and not even worth considering? Right now we live in a town of 13K people and if either of us lost our jobs there would be no other options except min. wage places like Home Depot. Our house here is valued at 280K and 1500 sq ft. It looks like similar places there are about 100K less for the same size.

Are there ranges or places to shoot within a reasonable distance

What is CCW like - extremely prohibitive to where it isn't worth it?

What is the primary cellular provider - Verizon, AT&T?

Are there good ISP's and which one? We currently use Cable One (Sparklight) and are paying $55 for 100Mb cable service and it is reliable

Anything else we should know like political climate, pro-gun organizations, culture, hidden costs of living, taxes,

Thank you
Link Posted: 9/23/2019 11:02:16 PM EDT
[#1]
Abq is crime ridden and getting worse.  Stay out of the bad areas and you’ll be okay - we can help you identify those areas.  RR has a better outlook and is historically much more conservative than the liberal shithole Albuquerque has become.

We have AT&T - no issues around Abq/RR.  NM does have a lot of dead zones due to the vastness and remote wildnerness.  Lots of NF and BLM land to exlpore.

We just have Comcast for Internet.  I don’t know what the speed is - fast enough though.  Roughly $80/month.