Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Durkin Tactical Franklin Armory
User Panel

Posted: 6/5/2022 7:21:18 PM EDT
Hello,

Looking for some advice here.
Wife and I will be in the Morristown area for a small vacation at the end of this month and to do a little recon.
We are looking for a conservative area as we always vote red. CT is a clown show. (I moved here from Central Europe long time ago, so technically not a Yankee?).
I work in IT, but change of career is always a possibility of course. Living within commuting distance of 40-45 miles from larger city like Knoxville would probably be best bet? So let's call it within 45 miles radius of Knoxville. (I don't want to live near Knoxville, just go there for work but maybe you have other recommendations?).
The goal is to have a property out in the country, more space, privacy and so I can shoot in my backyard.
What's there to do in NE Tennessee?
What towns should we check out?
Should we visit Knoxville? (It's going to be July 4th long weekend).
What places do you recommend we see while on vacation?

What about Johnson City? Looks promising but worried about lack of jobs up there.

I am going to create identical thread in the South Carolina Hometown. Basically we are looking between NW South Carolina and NE Tennessee.

Thanks
Link Posted: 6/6/2022 6:17:00 AM EDT
[Last Edit: rebel_rifle] [#1]
I wish I had a dollar for every post like this. OP, you and tons of others from up north and out west are wanting to move here. As long as you don’t say “this is how we did it up there………..”, you’re welcome. I’m serious.

It all boils down to this:

1. School age kids?
2.  Budget? This is the main driver.
3. Internet needs?
4. Other needs, doctor, medical, hospital, etc.?
5. Airport/air travel needs?
6. Entertainment wants, restaurants, theater, etc.?