Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/23/2020 7:59:10 PM EDT
New Mexicans, I posted a question about ccw laws in the dedicated thread, but haven’t gotten an answer.
I really hate to be a pest, but I’m struggling with a couple of questions.

1) I know that concealed carry is banned in NM State Parks.  Does this mean that concealed carry is therefore banned in National Parks within the State?

2) I plan to carry my pistol under my Florida CFL permit.  And New Mexico honors Florida’s permit.  BUT, does NM distinguish between resident and non-resident regarding the Florida CFL?  (I’m a resident of PA)  
Here’s a little wrinkle……..Florida does NOT list any address information about the permit holder on its permit!  So, in cases where a state does not honor a Florida non-resident, I guess it is up to the honor system as to whether or not one wants to claim Florida residency or fess up to being a non-resident.
Link Posted: 11/23/2020 8:08:29 PM EDT
[#1]
State and federal are different jurisdictions. If you are carrying in a federal park, I’d contact that office.
Have a great trip.
Link Posted: 11/24/2020 7:18:50 PM EDT
[#2]
Right, so I went to the Chaco Canyon website and a concealed carry handgun is legal there (with the requisite CFL).

New Mexico is a bit puzzling because the usual rule is that ccw is legal in National Parks, Forests and Monuments in those states which issue such licenses.
But typically, ccw is legal in those same state's parks and forests.  Apparently, in NM, a state that issues ccw licenses, carry is legal in the Nationally controlled park areas even though it is not legal in the state controlled park areas.  I believe this is peculiar to NM (although there are probably some other states with a similar situation).