Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/12/2020 1:29:14 PM EDT
I’m a tech and studying for general.  I just got my hf rig set up in anticipation .  Hopefully things will ease up soon so I can test.

So who are the hams? Any nets I should be aware of?

Kg5amk
Link Posted: 4/12/2020 1:48:46 PM EDT
[#1]
Not a ham today, but back in late 60's early 70's one needed to know a certain amount of words of Morse Code to get a license. I was up to around 12-15 words a minute, which I think was the words needed, before the teacher who was licensed, died and it just took the fire out of me to continue on to get my license.

This was also during a time when CB radio operations also needed a license to operate, so this tells you how old I am.

Our family was also R.E.A.C.T members from having CBs and helped report bad weather conditions in areas of the County and relayed messages to other members who reported to central dispatching to get reports to news and radio stations.

Thought about getting back into ham now that things have changed in how easy it is to get a simple license nowadays.

I should brush up on my Morse Code as it seems to be a lost art and might come in handy someday.
Link Posted: 4/12/2020 1:57:39 PM EDT
[#2]
In regards to the Morse, the general class videos im watching now claim that there is now more using now than ever before.  I am interested and hope to continue that direction, but need to pass a test first.  I’m trying really hard to understand the technical aspects, as i would really like to make some antennas. (Qrp) sounds fun too!
Link Posted: 4/12/2020 4:33:44 PM EDT
[#3]
Tech license.

There is a very active HAM section here on Arfcom if you havent checked in there.
Link Posted: 4/12/2020 7:12:49 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Tech license.

There is a very active HAM section here on Arfcom if you havent checked in there.
View Quote